In 1954, a group of young bachelors established the Double B Ski Club. There were only a handful of buildings on Mt Buller at the time. This group was affectionately known as the Buller Batchelors hence the name Double B (BB).
The founders were a group of mainly engineering students. These friends had started going to Mt Buller in the late 1940s, a time when skiing was all about walking up hills and skiing down 2 or 3 runs a day.
Getting to Mt Buller involved a 5 hour car trip followed by a 2 to 3 hour walk, often from the White Bridge area of the Mt Buller access road. As a result, carting in supplies wasn’t an easy thing to do during the winter!
Over the years Double B has grown and modernized whilst preserving its history and its original A-frame structure (we believe it was the first A frame on Australian ski fields) to provide a uniquely Australian lodge experience based around family style accommodation.
Double B has a proud history of offering fine club accommodation to members, friends of members and guests in a ski-in ski-out location, right in the heart of the Mt Buller village.